GAMER1984

Lakitu

• Members
  • 2,036 posts
  • NNID:gamer1984
  • Fandom:
    Nintendo

Posted 16 July 2013 - 08:39 PM

Ok so we know that there is a lot not known about Wii U hardware. What we do know and has been confirmed by Nintendo is that developers have 1GB of RAM available for games. Developers seem to be struggling with Wii U development even getting Wii U ports to run noticebly better than 360 version of same game. My question is with us knowing Wii U has 1 GB verses 512mb available for 7th gen consoles what should be the "bare minimum" benefits of that? Even if they cant figure out the EDRAM, GPU layout, and CPU caches shouldnt applying the 1GB of RAM to games be the easiest thing to do? shouldnt we be reaping instant benefits from the increased RAM for Wii U? obviously im not a developer and i could be totally ignorant of this and way wrong. It just seems to me like the one things developers always ask for more of is RAM.... so why cant bare minimum they take advantage of Wii U's increase RAM over PS360?

P.S.  i ask because im looking forward to splinter cell blacklist to see if at bare minimum ubisoft can make the game look better than ps360.... im doubting it i really am if they do they are keeping it a very good secret.

Edited by GAMER1984, 16 July 2013 - 08:40 PM.

#2 MorbidGod

MorbidGod

Hammer Bro.

• Members
  • 1,717 posts

Posted 16 July 2013 - 10:56 PM

First off, that specific game doesn't look as good as Watch Dogs on Wii U does. So if graphics is the only thing you want, you might be disappointed.

Second, how many times do I have to say this - adding more RAM doesn't make better graphics. Think about back in the N64 days. Did the expansion pack really make a big jump?