• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 BrosBeforeGardenTools

BrosBeforeGardenTools

Hot dog vendor who spilled condiments on himself

• Members
  • 1,864 posts

Posted 09 November 2014 - 05:23 AM

Unlike some of my previous stories, I think this story has a point. The point is, you shouldn't spend several thousand dollars without being absolutely sure of something.

So now begins my tale of my 5 months at the University of Advancing Technology game development college. I majored in Game Art & Animation and was enrolled in the online, from home college.

Now when I joined this college, we set up a Skype group and all the members didn't know how to make a game. However, all of them were somehow more experienced artists. To the extent that when I submitted my courses, my teacher would sometimes point to their work as examples and then give me lower grades.

Okay so I spent about 5 months at this school, and I racked up a bill of several thousand dollars. Not only that, but I found myself having to rush out to buy expensive computer programs on a whim to fulfill school requirements. Some of the time, they would allow you to log into their virtual server and use their programs, but the virtual server was always broken, and tech support would never respond.

Now my first few months were okay. I got grades of close to 100. Now they did send me a book on Society that seemed to have a bias toward a certain political view, in my opinion.

Then I got to math. The math was really poor instructioning and even though I passed GED algebra with flying colors, I struggled at this. The teacher provided no help. I got a woman who passed a whole bunch of advanced algebra at her local college to help me, and even she struggled severely. No wonder why this college has like a 50% dropout rate.