12 replies to this topic

#1 Leon Sandcastle

Leon Sandcastle

Goomba

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 January 2015 - 12:59 AM

Hello.

I recently bought a Wii U and have not owned a Nintendo home console since the GameCube so I am fairly new to using the hardware having owned different consoles and mostly gaming on Windows.. Also not quite sure if this is the right place to post this or if this topic has already been answered before.

Is it not possible to control the Wii U menu with the icons on the TV while using the gamepad? I can only seem to control it while the icon menu is on the TV with the pro controller. With the gamepad I seem to be able to only control it on the gamepad LCD screen.

I've tried searching through the settings seeing if there is a way to switch it with no luck. Maybe I'm not looking correctly which I hope I am. Any response in regards to this would be greatly appreciated.

- Thanks.

#2 TheDoctor_13

TheDoctor_13

Chain Chomp

• Members
  • 728 posts
  • Fandom:
    Doctor Who

Posted 21 January 2015 - 01:33 AM

That is correct, no way to change it I think. Kinda annoying, but not a huge deal. 

Stupid Snowmads!

#3 NintendoReport

NintendoReport

NintendoChitChat

• Moderators
  • 5,907 posts
  • NNID:eddyray
  • Fandom:
    Nintendo Directs and Video Presentations

Posted 21 January 2015 - 04:46 AM

It's a two screen experience with the menus. I actually like it. Many find Wara Wara Plaza to be silly but it can be quite useful.  So, as you can scroll the icons on the gamepad, Wara Wara plaza is feeding you info on the latest and greatest, most talked about games, what your friends are saying etc.

You can however control the Wii U menu icons by sending the gamepad screen to your TV. Basically the TV screen and Gamepad screen switch places. So your view changes. To do so, simply look for the little toggle icon in the upper right of the gamepad screen, or hit x ... see below.

Unless I am not understanding your question, this should help.